We would like to offer some thoughts and insights to the new Illinois Concealed Carry law recently passed and known as HB 183.
Illinois is now a Shall Issue State under a new state law known as HB 183.
There are a few ways you might be initially denied:

  1. Any law enforcement agency may submit an objection to a license applicant based upon a reasonable suspicion that the applicant is a danger to himself or herself or others, or a threat to public safety.
  2. If an applicant has 5 or more arrests for any reason, that have been entered into the Criminal History Records Information (CHRI) System, within the 7 years preceding the date of application for a license, or has 3 or more arrest within within 7 years preceding the application for any combination of gang-related offenses.
  3. If no objections are received from law enforcement the license shall be granted within 90 days of completed application. If an objection is received the Concealed Carry Licensing Review Board shall issue a decision within 30 days of denial in most cases.

Qualifications for a License

  1. 21 years of Age.
  2. Current and valid FOID.
  3. Have not been convicted or found guilty in this or any other state of:
    • Felony
    • A misdemeanor involving the use or threat of physical force or violence to any person with in the preceding 5 years.
    • 2 or more violations related to DWI, drugs or alcohol, within the preceding 5 years.
  4. No pending arrest warrant prosecution, or proceeding that would disqualify owning or possessing a firearm.
  5. No residential or court ordered treatment for alcohol or drugs within preceding 5 years.
  6. Has completed firearms training and education. 16 Hours.

Fees

Initial application $150.00 Non-Refundable. Good for 5 Years.
Non-resident $ 300.00. Non-Refundable. Good for 5 Years.
Renewal $ 150.00 Non-Refundable. Good for 5 Years.

Prohibited Areas

These are numerous and will be covered thoroughly in the CCW portion of your training.

Training

An applicant for a new license shall provide proof of completion of firearms training from an approved training facility of 16 hours, which must include range qualifications. The ISP approved class must include the following:

  1. Firearm safety
  2. Basic principle of marksmanship
  3. Care, cleaning, loading, and unloading of a firearm
  4. All applicable state and federal laws relating to the ownership, storage, carry, and transportation of a firearm
  5. Instruction on the appropriate and lawful interaction with law enforcement while transporting or carrying a concealed firearm
  6. An applicant for a new license shall provide proof from a certified instructor they have passed a live fire exercise with a concealable firearm consisting of:
    • A minimum of 30 rounds.
    • 10 shots at 5yds, 7yds, and 10 yds each. These rounds will be shot a B27 silhouette target requiring a passing score of 70% or better.
    • Renewal applicant will require 3 hours of training.

8 hour safety training opt out

  1. Active, retired, or honorably discharged member of the US Armed Forces - DD214 millitary card(8hrs)
  2. NRA basic pistol safety class (8 hours)
  3. Any combined 4 hr approved courses-see list below
  Course Title    Acceptable Credit 
  Illinois   Hunter Safety Course   4 hours 
  Utah   Concealed Carry   4 hours 
  Florida   Concealed Carry   4 hours 
  Nevada   Concealed Carry   4 hours 
  Missouri   Concealed Carry   4 hours 
  Kentucky   Concealed Carry   4 hours 
  Michigan   Concealed Carry   4 hours 
  Chicago   Firearms Safety Course   4 hours 
  NRA Basic Pistol    8 hours 
  NRA Personal Protection in the Home    8 hours 
  NRA Personal Protection Outside the Home    8 hours 

Disqualifying

  1. Does not follow the orders of the certified instructor.
  2. Does not handle the firearm in a safe and responsible manner.
  3. Fails to score 70% or better on the B-27 target.

States that will recognize Illinois CC.

AL,AK,AZ,AR,ID,IL,IN,IA,KS,KY,MI,MS,MO,NC,OK,SD,TN,UT,VT

Illinois does not have reciprocity with any other state.

The above listed states recognize CC permits from all states and do not require agreements from the state of Illinois. Use caution and be familiar with each states CC laws and regulations.

NSSF News

News and information from the National Shooting Sports Foundation.
Bullet Points
Pull the Trigger
The Range Report
NSSF Blog
NSSF YouTube Videos

Bullet Trap Calendar

May 2017
S M T W T F S
30 1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31 1 2 3

Future Classes

Mon May 29
Memorial Day - Closed
Tue May 30
Ladie's Day
Thu Jun 01
TWAW
Fri Jun 02 @ 5:30PM - 09:30PM
Marksmanship Clinic